Alarm Clock

Due to work and school, I have often been awake at weird hours, which means that sometimes I nap during the day. I know that’s not good sleep hygiene, and I try not to make a habit of it, but sometimes you have to do what you have to do.

Well, one afternoon, I got home from work, and I was zonked.  I needed a nap in the worst of all possible ways, so I closed the blinds and curtains in my room and curled up for a few early-evening Zs.

I don’t know how long I was asleep, but my alarm clock went off. I jolted awake, thinking I’d slept all the way through the night and that was my morning alarm, except that there was too much light in the room and the noise stopped as soon as I sat up.  Odd.  I checked the clock, and it was set for the usual 6:00 in the morning.  I turned off the alarm and flopped back on the bed.

I had not quite managed to fall asleep when the clock went off again. With a heartfelt groan, I rolled over and the alarm quit before I even reached for the clock.  This was the far distant side of weird. Certain something else was making the ruckus, I got up and checked the kitchen timer and a clock in the living room. My cockatiels chirped as I walked past their cage and I whistled back at them.

Back in my own room, my pionus, Johnny, belted out a heartfelt wolf-whistle.  I whistled back to him and curled up on my bed.  I hadn’t even closed my eyes when Johnny cut loose with a great imitation of my alarm clock.

There would be no napping until he’d had some quality time, apparently. A little preening, a little playtime with me, and he was content. My nap followed in short order … without the “alarm clock.”

 

Johnny getting ready to ski

Here’s Johnny!  I do miss my pi guy.  He was such a sweet bird.

2 thoughts on “Alarm Clock

  1. When in need of human attention one fairs best if one pays close attention to things that bring the ’round!

    Like

Leave a Reply

