On Expectations

I may have mentioned that I’m working on an online Master’s degree in adult education.

When I started, I was told by the recruiter to expect a workload of 2-3 hours per day. That’s confirmed in every syllabus for every course, but I have found instead that this is a full time job. I spend 50+ hours per week on readings, assignments, and discussion forums. I work full time as an optician, too, so that leaves my available free time fairly close to zero. As a result, I haven’t had much time for my fiction writing or things like this blog.

That’s irksome, but it’ll work out. I’ve just finished Course #9 of 12, and I’ll graduate by July 2015. In the meantime, I’m keeping my 4.0 going in my courses, learning a bunch, and investing in the future. I’m grateful that I had the resources to go after this degree. Just a few years ago, this would not have been possible.

When I get a chance, I’ll drop in and visit!

Leave a Reply

