Book Spotlight: Shadow on the Sea by Etta Jean, Part 2

Today, Etta Jean shares some other information with us about herself and the book…

1. Did you come across any surprises writing this?

Maitena, the main character, was full of them. I never know what will come out of that girl’s mouth next! I would type something and then just sit there and stare at it for a moment before moving on. She gets away with so much. Hehe.

2. What was the best part about writing the story?

I love the angelic race I created. I always love the idea of soul mates (this should not be news to anyone) but being able to take it just a step further, to where you have these beings that live knowing they will look into someone’s eyes and be completed . . . it’s really wonderful. There’s a double-edged sword to it, though. I won’t say what. You’ll have to read to find out!

3. Do you have plans for a sequel?

Maaaaaaaybe. In all seriousness, I would like to visit my world of Lightlings again, but this story stands entirely on its own without any loose threads.

4. What constitutes a “good story?”

A story that engages a reader from beginning to end, that makes someone want to go back again and again.

5. Which Muppet do you most resemble?

I would have to say I most resemble Kermit the Frog because all too often do I find myself playing the straight man to my crazy friends. I feel for that frog, I really do.

6. What’s your favorite place?

My hometown. Sacramento is my favorite place to be, and always feels so good to come home to. I can’t see the city for the trees from the freeway, and the buildings don’t give me claustrophobia. (I’m looking at you, San Francisco.)

7. What’s your favorite TV show?

Mythbusters! I’ll watch any episode on TV, and I watch my iTunes collection frequently and repeatedly. I could probably start quoting specific episodes, really.

8. Do you have any critters?

I have four cats. Pirate Princess Patches, Nighthawk, Sebastian, and my little Charlie.

Check out Shadow on the Sea!

Shadow on the Sea cover

Leave a Reply

