D Is for Material

Years ago, I dropped weight very suddenly – 30 pounds in less than 3 months – and I’ve only managed to put 10 pounds back on… and keeping it there is a challenge and a half. (No, you do not wish you had this problem, but you can voluntarily try my diet plan if you want. Just ask. I’ll fill you in, but I’ll warn you, it’s very strict. If you manage to gain weight on it, tell me how). I now weigh 98 pounds and stand 5’4”.

I can mostly find clothes in my size only if I want to show off my butt, my bust, or my belly. Modest clothing? Size XS or 0 or 00 or girls’ size 16-18 or boys’ size 18 … and at least half of the stuff I find in those sizes is inappropriate for public wear, in my honest opinion. Dresses are the hardest.

Fortunately, I can sew. A few yards of material, some thread, a few notions, my sewing machine, a few hours of time, and *poof* I have clothes. I collect material the way some people collect coins, stamps, and online gaming achievements. I have boxes of cloth waiting to be made into clothes, and other boxes of scraps left over from sewing adventures waiting to be turned into quilts. I occasionally go on dress-making sprees, and that’s why D is for Material.

I’d show you a picture of my boxes and boxes and boxes of material, but they’re packed away waiting until I get moved into my next place of residence where I can unpack and resume my sewing and crafting fun.

I can, however, show you some of the finished results.

My grandmother made all those white  doilies that I used to decorate the jacket and dress. I made the blue ones.

My grandmother made all those white doilies that I used to decorate the jacket and dress. I made the blue ones.

I did the embellishments on the vest and skirt and used broken costume jewelry for the ends of the ribbons.

I did the embellishments on the vest and skirt and used broken costume jewelry for the ends of the ribbons.

When I find a real job in my new field, I’ll get myself moved into that area and unpacked. Then I can resume sewing my own clothes, including some less casual stuff. Much fun for me!

For next time, E is for Learning

One thought on “D Is for Material

  1. […] like to sew. I’d make all my own clothes if I could, and sometimes I go on major sewing sprees and make all […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

