Flood Remediation

After a flood event, getting back to normal doesn’t happen quickly. Just getting rid of the water isn’t enough. Soggy stuff can grow extra mold if not dealt with.

Typically, baseboards and sheetrock up to at least the level of the water have to be removed and inspected, if not entirely replaced. After a few weeks of a jet engine equivalent invading my space, I received the email telling me to get ready for a work crew to come in.

My first question was about the scope of work. If they were just going to fix some paint and minor stuff like that, the bird could stay, but gypsum powder + bird lungs = sick bird, so anything more creative than that meant Masika and I needed to vacate the premises. The leasing agent told me that they were supposed to rip up sheetrock, so I packed up the bird and headed to my parents’ place for the weekend.

We came home expecting wholesale carnage, but when I looked inside, I found that nothing was different. As I looked closer, I found that only a line of caulk had been added to the top of the baseboards.  Curious.

When I talked to the leasing office, they were curious, too.  They said they’d check with the construction company. The next day, my stuff had been reorganized in my absence and there was gypsum dust on the bathroom floor, which also surprised the leasing office since they’d told the construction company to stay out for now.

The construction company hemmed and hawed. The leasing office folks concluded that this was just too much stress and bother for me and the Greyt One, so they offered me an opportunity to switch apartments to the same floorplan in a newly finished building uphill. I went for it, and I’m now getting settled in at the new place.

The original apartment? No longer on the market until the remediation gets taken care of and the drainage issue that started the whole flood phenomenon gets dealt with.  This is good.  No one else needs to deal with an unexpected indoor swimming pool installation.

The leasing office folks here get Two Thumbs Up. The construction company? Well, everyone gets to make mistakes, as long as they learn from the situation.

4 thoughts on “Flood Remediation

  1. So glad you moved! Could have been dangerous! Hope you’re feeling settled now!

    Like

  2. I’m betting birdie is much, much happier.

    Like

    • Yes, indeed! She does not like being transferred from carrier to regular cage or cage to carrier. We’re still working on that “step onto my hand and let me move. Don’t panic” part.

      Stable digs = happier bird.

      Like

Leave a Reply

