March

Happy March!

You have survived the shortest month of the year, weather is warming up again … if you’re north of the equator, anyway … and it’s time to go to war.

Wait, what?

March was named for the Roman god of war: Mars. This was the time of year when enough snow and ice were gone in most places so rulers could mobilize their armies and go try to kill each other. Roads were passable, the weather was halfway decent, people were a little stir crazy from being inside all winter. A good time had by all, I guess.

These days, we don’t wait for a specific month to go to war. Our politicians just decide to go and send the troops out.

When I owned my own house, March was a time for me to go to war … against pesky weeds in the yard. I’d also establish my garden and take care of whatever outdoor repair work needed doing.

March is also the time when I get going on my taxes. By this time, I’ve gotten all my tax forms from my various employers, publishers, and other interests, so I sit down with a tax program and a whole bunch of papers and figure out if I owe Uncle Sam or he owes me.

I also go to war against the flotsam in my place.  A bit of spring cleaning, as it were. Stuff is getting a bit piled up in here.

What do you have planned for March?

4 thoughts on “March

  1. eightpawswriting

    So happy to see the sun! I’m enjoying writing book three and looking forward to all the activities I have ahead. I quote my dogs” Life is Good!”

    Like

  2. Well, March is our planting time. This Saturday we are planting a Washington Navel orange tree in the back yard, (which will hopefully do better then our avocado tree adventures.) Also planting a Red Mexican Bird of Paradise bush in the front yard. They are so colorful and should attract hummingbirds and butterflies. 🙂 We have a rough area to plant in as we not only can get frost in the winter and hot summers, but we can also get very high winds. Sometimes I think the Wicked Witch of the west will blow by on her broomstick. We have seen a large aluminum awning blowing by in 70 to 80 mile an hour wind gusts. Pretty freaky.

    Like

Leave a Reply

