Food Without Much in It: Bread

One of the hardest things I had to adapt to when I became allergic to most of the universe was doing without bread. I had bread for breakfast (toast and jam), lunch (sandwiches), dinner (great with a good dense stew or soup), and even snacks (a little bread, some cheese, maybe some olive or tomato goo…).

Yes, there are wheat-deprived breads out there, but pretty nearly all of them either have a ton of sugar, soy, or potato in them. All 3 of those are toxic to me, so that’s no good, either.

I tried mutating some bread recipes, but the stuff either turned into bowling balls or disintegrated on contact. This is not conducive to tasty bread.

I have found one recipe for rice bread that holds together pretty well … if you let it cool to room temperature before you even think about approaching it with a knife. I did have to tweak it rather a lot to make it work for me.

Rice Bread Mutated Recipe

2 cups rice flour
1 tsp salt
1/3c rice water (make rice with too much water, keep 1/3c of the water)
1/2c + 2 Tbsp apple sauce (I make my own with an apple and a food processor)
3 Tbsp olive oil
1 C water
2 tsp cider vinegar
1 package yeast

  1. Mix all the dry stuff
  2. Mix all the wet stuff separately
  3. Mix it all together
  4. Cover and let it rise for a while  (until doubled in size)
  5. bake uncovered at 350F for 30-40 minutes

You have to let it cool completely before slicing it or you get a plateful of crumbs.

Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

