Autumn

Ah Autumn.

When I lived in Texas, Autumn was just a time on the calendar that marked the beginning of school and football season. Central Texas does actually have four seasons: Pre-summer, Summer, Post-summer, and Bad Swimming Weather. Summer happens from late March to early November and then you get sporadic chilly weather, and in January or February, that might include some frozen stuff falling out of the sky.

I now live further north in the corn patch. There are, actually, 4 real seasons up here. Autumn is more than just a date from September to December. The temperatures are cooler. The garden is producing metric tons of squashes. Trees actually do change colors more interesting than a brief spurt of yellow and then brown.

This is my first Autumn in the corn patch. It has been a very different kind of time, but I do think I like it.

4 thoughts on “Autumn

  1. eightpawswriting

    I am glad you are getting settled and slowly falling in love with your new surroundings. Fall is my favorite time of year!

    Like

  2. I love squashes! Do you get a lot of the flat green patty pan squash? They are my favorite!
    In Christ,
    Gail J.

    Like

Leave a Reply

