NaNoWriMo

National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) starts in 2 days. I played a few years ago and ended up with the first half of Bird’s Eye: The Novel in Dire Need of a Better Title. That novel has since been finished, and it is waiting for revision after some feedback from a beta reader.

I’m considering trying it again this year. I’m working on the sequel to Lines of Succession, and I might gain some good ground if I dive into this. I’ve already started it, but I can mark my starting point and count from there or do the new work in another file and then copy it across when I’m done.

Still sitting on the fence about whether to dive in. (I’ll have to hurry up and decide. O.o )

The good things about it?

  • A daily goal will keep me going on this. I’m competitive enough to allow no excuses.
  • I did get some encouragement from the group when I did it before.
  • I’ll get to spend more time with Masika (the computer is in her room).

The bad things about it?

  • The writing I did on Bird’s Eye a few years ago was not my best, even considering the rough draft mode. Cleaning it up might be harder than starting over.
  • The emphasis on word count rather than quality encourages bad writing habits, and I already try to string together too many descriptors.
  • I’m way behind on making Christmas presents because of the Great Northern Move.

Hmmm… Decisions, decisions…

 

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo

  1. Sounds like you have a lot on your plate… BTW… will need your new mailing address please. Just send it to me in an e-mail if that is okay with you. Best of luck on your writing. Hugs!
    In Christ,
    Your friend,
    Gail J.

    Like

Leave a Reply

