2017 Goals: Career Goals

For 2016, I set some goals for myself with various, mostly favorable results. I’m setting new goals for 2017 in the areas of career hunting, writing, crafting, and eating.

 

After the Grand Northward Move, I started looking for work in fields I’m interested in doing for a living: editing, writing, training, and/or improving performance. Although some of those are not apparent in my resume, I actually do have experience in all of the above.

By January 1, 2017, I had about 80 applications out in the world and I was signed up through a few agencies. Unfortunately, few companies actually hire people at the end of the year. Tax phenomena become less challenging if they wait until after the first of the year, and a lot of the hiring managers take time off for family, like a lot of folks do.

In the meantime, I’m doing some project work for my brother’s business by listing some sterling silver jewelry on eBay.

Presently, I do have some traction on a couple applications through an agency and one that’s a direct hire. As the new year kicks off and people get back from vacation, I’m hoping some of the others will gain some traction, too.

My first goal for 2017: Find a job, preferably in the field I spent so much time and effort studying for.

 

4 thoughts on “2017 Goals: Career Goals

  1. eightpawswriting

    I’m glad to hear you’re looking for a job in your field of study. There’s nothing better than loving your work. Since you spend hours doing whatever your job is, you should look forward to each day. Sending positive vibes your way!

    Like

  2. Praying for you sweetie. God will provide for your needs. Hugs!

    Like

Leave a Reply

