2017 Goals: Writing Goals

I didn’t quite make my writing goals last year. I made some good progress in the right direction, but the mission was not accomplished. Several factors played into that (moving several states north, some challenging editing and critiquing assignments, job hunting, losing a good chunk of the work done with my smartpen, etc), but in the end, the goal was a bust.

I’m going to try again. My second goal for 2017 is to finish the draft of A Suitable Arrangement.

The good news is, some of the smartpen OCR text can still be used. I was able to resurrect some of it and parts of that still work with the new plot outline a friend helped me put together when I discovered my original plot map had holes you could parallel park a semi in. So far, I’ve been able to bring across about 7500 words (typical novel is about 90,000 words). I know there are some other usable parts that will survive, too.

I’m also going to take part in “JaNoWriMo.” Every November, there’s National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo), which is a sort of writing contest in which novelists try to put together 50,000 words toward a novel. (50,000 words is considered the smallest acceptable word count for some kinds of novels). A pile of my writer pals all decided that’s a stupid time of year to do it because of holiday shenanigans. So, about 100 of us are doing JaNoWriMo (January Novel Writing Month). I’ll be working on A Suitable Arrangement. To make the goal of 40,000 words (they also thought 50,000 was a little ambitious), I will need to write about 1300 words per day. Doable. Definitely doable.

No, the work I did in December and the text I bring across from the old OCR file won’t count. I’ll account for that so only new writing gets counted.

I currently have about 10,000 words on the project, so successfully completing JaNoWriMo will give me the first half of the novel.

After January, I plan to keep up a writing goal of 500 words per day until it’s finished. Some days I’ll manage more. Some days I’ll manage less … or none.

Once I have it written, the revising part comes next. I’ll spend some time polishing it up myself, using the self-editing checklist put together from comments I consistently get from different editors.

By the end of 2017, I plan to have a completed and revised draft of A Suitable Arrangement.

2 thoughts on “2017 Goals: Writing Goals

  1. Thanks! You’ve been making some cool progress on your artistic endeavors! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

